Book review

Loveboat , Taipei blog tour + intl giveaway + 2020 East Asian books

Our cousins have done this program,” Sophie whispers. “Best kept secret. Zero supervision.

And just like that, Ever Wong’s summer takes an unexpected turn. Gone is Chien Tan, the strict, educational program in Taiwan that Ever was expecting. In its place, she finds Loveboat: a summer-long free-for-all where hookups abound, adults turn a blind eye, snake-blood sake flows abundantly, and the nightlife runs nonstop.

But not every student is quite what they seem:

Ever is working toward becoming a doctor but nurses a secret passion for dance.

Rick Woo is the Yale-bound, child-prodigy bane of Ever’s existence whose perfection hides a secret.

Boy-crazy, fashion-obsessed Sophie Ha turns out to have more to her than meets the eye.

And under sexy Xavier Yeh’s shell is buried a shameful truth he’ll never admit.

When these students’ lives collide, it’s guaranteed to be a summer Ever will never forget.

Loveboat , Taipei follows Everest Wong who is a Taiwanese-American being forced to go on a camp to know more about her origins . But her parents don’t know the camp is called Loveboat. No adult supervision and the kids are into clubbing . A Lot.

This book came into my radar a little too late for my liking. I watched people talk about it very little. But once I read the Goodreads summary , I was hooked and so in.

I was just in for the representations and letting loose the steam the summary promised. But loveboat Taipei talked to my very soul. I haven’t felt like this in a long time. It had everything. Love , relationship , friendship and all the bumps.

The East Asian representation was truly remarkable and all the 18 y/o figuring out what to do with their life while partying wild was so fun.

The characters are all gray. And actual teens. The family pressure and getting their college admissions while meeting with all the fellow competitors was scary. I honestly thought it was gonna be a hunger game situation or something.

Embracing yourself

One of the most common themes of Young Adult contemporaries are circled around finding what you like and embrace yourself for it.

It is easier said than done. In Loveboat Taipei , all of the characters face family pressure. They are around yardsticks and dreams prepared for them. But a vacation like this with similar aged kids around , all of them get to experiment.

They toy around the idea of commiting to something while they’re enjoying the trip.

I’m not East Asian , but the most common stereotype you can find in every corner is the parental pressure. I’m not gonna lie and say it’s a myth . But I’ve had loads of friends who chose what they did and had their full parental support , including my parents. While I’m grateful for that in entirety , I can’t help but feel a pang while reading the book.

Embracing yourself and doing what you love is so much hard. The parental pressure is real and we’ve always taught to make them happy and their approval means so much to everyone. The family system is based on the foundation of making it work and facing the fact everyone tries to pressure you.

That is why this is a great book , the idea of everyone embracing themselves at the end and accepting who they really are was so beautiful.

I can only change myself. Not to give up my Americanness. But to let them in

The Asian – American kids don’t fit in a box. They don’t fit in with their cousins in Asia or with the kids in America.

Characterisations :

Though the loveboat has hundreds of kids , our protagonist has a tight knit circle of seven – ten people.

There are all types of grey characters . The bitch , the pathetic kid , the nerd , the jock , etc. But the book outshines in this aspect.

Abigail has managed to inject the reality in every single character. Especially Everest. I could write a essay about her right now. She is that awesome. Remember Lara Jean? Add her with bits of Eleanor from Good place. You have Everest Wong.

I fell I love with her from the very first second. She’s clumsy , been under a lot of rules and just wants to blow some steam. I loved how her character transitioned through the book.

There are no stereotypes , Asian or otherwise.

Negative points :

I’m limiting my stars to four and not five because of the cringy love triangle. I hate love triangles to the core. Even though Abigail managed to subvert a lot of tropes and wrote a great book… The love triangle was so cringy.

Given , some of the plot twists can’t be seen coming. But .. comeon?

I would recommend this book to you , if you love Young Adult books. Especially searching for Asian representation . Loveboat , Taipei is one hell of a ride of life.

Intl Giveaway

Enter the Giveaway for the book!

2020 East Asian Books

Click on the title to get to the Goodreads page

Almost American Girl

🌟Set in 1990s

🌟Robin is forced to relocate when her mom marries.

🌟New language , new step family , Robin is furious.

Every Reason We Shouldn’t

🌟Korean MCs

🌟Figure skating & Speed skating

🌟High school & Olympics training

Not your All-American Girl

🌟Jewish Chinese American MC

🌟Two grandmas and loads of fun

We are not free

🌟Second-generation Japanese American citizens, during World War II.

🌟Fourteen teens who have grown up together form a community and a family, as interconnected as they are conflicted.

🌟Fourteen teens whose lives are turned upside down when over 100,000 people of Japanese ancestry are removed from their homes and forced into desolate incarceration camps.
In a world that seems determined to hate them, these young Nisei must rally together as racism and injustice threaten to pull them apart.

The Perfect Escape

Releases April 7

🌟Korean MCs

🌟Rich Actress Wannabe – Scholarship student in need of money

🌟If they survive zombie escape , both of them can follow their dreams

A sweet mess

Releases July 14 , 2020

🌟Korean MCs

🌟Small town romance

🌟Baking , A Lot!

I’ll be the one(June 16 , 2020)

🌟Bi Korean-American

🌟Plus sized MC

🌟Breaking stereotype of skinny only K-pop stars

🌟 Fatphobic beauty industry’s reality


Fantasy

The Silence of Bones (April 21 , 2020)

1800, Joseon (Korea). Homesick and orphaned sixteen-year-old Seol is living out the ancient curse: “May you live in interesting times.” Indentured to the police bureau, she’s been tasked with assisting a well-respected young inspector with the investigation into the politically charged murder of a noblewoman.

As they delve deeper into the dead woman’s secrets, Seol forms an unlikely bond of friendship with the inspector. But her loyalty is tested when he becomes the prime suspect, and Seol may be the only one capable of discovering what truly happened on the night of the murder.

But in a land where silence and obedience are valued above all else, curiosity can be deadly.

These violent delights

*Cover hasn’t been released yet*

A monster has awakened in 1920s Shanghai, killing off citizens and stirring trouble between two feuding gangs. The rival heirs, Roma Montagov and Juliette Cai, must work together before the monster destroys all they hold dear, even while the Chinese Civil War breaks out around them.

The Kingdom of Back

Two siblings. Two brilliant talents. But only one Mozart.Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish—to be remembered forever. But even as she delights audiences with her masterful playing, she has little hope she’ll ever become the acclaimed composer she longs to be. She is a young woman in 18th century Europe, and that means composing is forbidden to her. She will perform only until she reaches a marriageable age—her tyrannical father has made that much clear.
And as Nannerl’s hope grows dimmer with each passing year, the talents of her beloved younger brother, Wolfgang, only seem to shine brighter. His brilliance begins to eclipse her own, until one day a mysterious stranger from a magical land appears with an irresistible offer.He has the power to make her wish come true—but his help may cost her everything.

Blog tour schedule

December 16
Afire Pages | Letter from Abigail Hing Wen

December 17
Artsy Draft | Lockscreen/Wallpaper
Sometimes Leelynn Reads
Lori’s Bookshelf Reads
Magical Reads | Playlist

December 18
Infinite Golden Floors | “Loveboat,Taipei, in Fiction and Reality”
Lyrical Reads | Moodboards
Kaitlyn Gosiaco
Kitty Marie’s Reading Corner | Moodboard
Fanna Wants the World to Read | Why Fans of Crazy, Rich Asians and La La Land Will Love Loveboat, Taipei

December 19
Caitlin Althea
Utopia State of Mind | Hand Lettering
Shut Up, Shealea
And Once Upon
Bookathon | Loveboat, Taipei Book Tag

December 20
Read By Tiffany
Drizzle & Hurricane Books | Moodboards
Pages and Coffee Cups
Happily, Hedy

Not Just Fiction
Ambivertwords
Flipping Through the Pages | Favorite Mixed-Race Characters

Have you added Loveboat Taipei to your tbr? Or have you read it? Let’s talk!

Happy living

Advertisement

1 thought on “Loveboat , Taipei blog tour + intl giveaway + 2020 East Asian books”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s